top of page

YJFL stars selected for Vic Metro U18 Girls National Championship Squad

Ava Jordan of Vic Metro kicks the ball during the 2021 AFLW U17 Championships match between Vic Country and Vic Metro at Warawee Park on April 13, 2021 in Melbourne, Australia. (Photo by Dylan Burns/AFL Photos)

Victoria Metro has announced its 30-player squad for the 2023 AFL National Championships – U18 Girls with several YJFL players being selected to compete when the Championships recommence in July.

The AFL National Championships – U18 Girls features the country’s most talented under 18 girls footballers, with matches played across Australia.

The 30-player squad features several players from the YJFL.

  • Ava Jordan (Banyule)

  • Amy Cariss-Brett (Kew Rovers / Whitehorse Colts)

  • Zoe Hargreaves (Fitzroy)

  • Sarah Poustie (Hawthorn Citizens)

  • Jemma Rigoni (Ashy Redbacks)

  • Lara Hausegger (Doncaster)

  • Emma McDonald (Ashy Redbacks)

  • Sienna Tallariti (Whitehorse Colts)

  • Ellie Sbeghen (Brunswick)

Photos by AFL Photos

The Championships feature six teams, with Victoria Metro to compete against Queensland, South Australia, Victoria Country, Western Australia and the Allies – made up of players from NSW/ACT, Northern Territory and Tasmania. All teams will play three matches.

Victoria Metro will commence its campaign on Sunday, July 2 when it takes on the Allies in the first game of a double-header at Brighton Homes Arena.

WATCH: All matches in the 2023 AFL National Championships – U18 Girls will be available to watch live and free at

SCHEDULE: Please click here to access match details and squad lists. Each team will announce their squad in the week leading into their opening match.

bottom of page