top of page

Umpires celebrated at YJFL awards night

The Yarra Junior Football League (YJFL) has celebrated its 2023 umpiring group by hosting Umpiring Presentation Night at Ford Park on Tuesday 29 August.

The umpiring group enjoyed a barbeque together before award winners and Grand Final appointments were announced for this Sunday’s YJFL Grand Finals.

Josh Stacey was announced as the Golden Whistle Award winner which is awarded to an outstanding umpire who has been identified as having both the talent and desire to umpire at the highest level.

Award Winners:

  • Coaches Award – Angus Kitt

  • Coaches Award –Park Orchards Group – Oscar Bugler

  • Coaches Award – CGS Academy – Ben Nation

  • Encouragement Award – Cooper Thompson

  • White Rabbit Award - Ross Gaudion

  • Most Improved- Field Umpire – Eli Kitchen

  • Best First Year Umpire – Sam Olsen

  • Field Umpire of the Year – Oscar Reid

  • VAFA Pathway Award – Henry Habben

  • Golden Whistle Award – Josh Stacey

The YJFL has had 392 official umpires in Season 2023 with over 100 first year umpires.

YJFL Head of Umpiring Ray Kelsey said: "Thanks to all our umpires and umpires coaches involved this season, you all have applied yourself to the umpiring craft throughout season 2023 and umpiring improved dramatically throughout this season"

"Umpires get the chance to umpire Grand Finals this weekend and we wish you all well."

"Season 2024 will see change to further progress the overall standard of umpiring and commit to increasing the overall standard of our junior football product."

The YJFL would like to congratulate umpires selected to officiated in Grand Finals and ALL umpires for their contribution this season.

If you’re interested in learning more about umpiring or getting involved, head to

bottom of page