top of page


Yarra Junior Football League’s Colts Team of the Year retained the Colts Challenge Shield after an impressive display against the South Metro Junior Football League’s representative team.

Unlike last year, where the YJFL jumped out of the blocks and maintained the quarter time difference throughout the match, this year’s team extended their lead at every change to run out 94 point winners

Reduced to 22 players due to injuries sustained in the Colts GF to Fitzroy’s Paddy Howe and Josh Broderick the week prior, and Richmond’s Ubil Chol injured in the first week of the finals, there was not a player representing the YJFL who didn’t contribute to the victory

An extremely strong outfit with representation from 12 different Clubs within the 5 divisions of the YJFL, resulted in 11 different goal kickers which typified the depth and balance of the boys selected

A team well coached by an extensive group of coaches led by Rick Daniels, it appears that the Challenge Shield concept is growing in stature each year, and one that is greatly anticipated by all the lads selected, if yesterdays display is anything to go by.

Ben Wiggins was judged Best On Ground, whilst Liam Daniels lead the scoring with 4 goals. Luke Minahan and Matt Zukiewicz set the tone early winning lots of tough, inside football while Matt Cecchin, Christian Farchione, Jacob Price-Inglis, Max Dreher and Riley Loton at times looked like they brought their own footy with them, such was the possession count each accumulated throughout the day.

A great spectacle and a wonderful way for the 17yo boys to end their junior football days, and a huge acknowledgement for the 16yo lads who represented the YJFL; we look forward to you all pushing for selection again next year.

bottom of page