top of page

2018 Presentation Night

On the 28th of August, the Yarra Junior Football League held their annual Presentation Night at the Centre Ivanhoe.

This years presentation night was extra special as not only did we have a fantastic event sponsor SEDA, the presentations were streamed live thanks to Complete Sports Management.

The first session was for the Under 11 to the Under 13 divisions.

First of all we thanked our Under 13 Interleague coaches for their fantastic effort during the year. Big thank you to Jono Black, Gerry Baldori, Rebecca Shepherd & Sophia Ikosidekas.

Then we had AFL Victoria’s Matt Young present the Coach of the year awards. Well done to all the nominees. Congratulations to the following winners: Despina Aleri (Bulleen Templestowe) – Auskick Coach of the year, Andrew Higginbotham (Ashburton) – Junior Coach of the year & Isabella Hayes (Heidelberg) – Female Coach of the year.

Next up we were lucky enough two special guests, Jeremy Howe & Jordan de Goey from the Collingwood Football Club. The boys spoke about their experience as junior players and their excitement for playing finals football in 2018.

Finally it was time to move on to the Best and Fairest awards.  Big thank you to our Metro Junior Championship Captains for doing a great job at reading out the nominees and place getters. Thanks to Ned Long, Sam Nehme, Steve Tatsiokas, Emily Bacon & Amy Clayton.Jeremy and Jordan assisted handing out the awards as well.

Next up we had our Under 14 to Youth Girls session.

Firstly we thanked our Metro Junior Championship Coaches: Joe Mezgec, Darren Moulder, Rick Daniels, Jeremy Dickson, Bernie Girolami & Kim Ledder.

Matt Young from AFL Victoria also had an award to present in this session.  Congradulations to Matt Ryan (Heidelberg) for recieving Youth coach of the year and to all the nominees for their great work.

Next we had the Peter Johnston Medals which is given to the best players of the Metro Junior Championships Carnival.  Peter was a long time Board Member and great supporter of the championship series for the league who sadly is no longer with us. We were lucky enough to have Ada Chadwick (Peter’s granddaughter) to present the medals. Well done too: Sam Nehme, Harry Broderick, Leo Moore, Hassan Hussein, Jessica Simpson & Emily Tassiopoulos.

We then had Jason De Vincentis from Northern Knights present their Male & Female Rising Star awards. Congratulations to Josh Ward & Jessica Simpson.

Up Next was Jim Honey & Kim Ledder from Oakleigh Chargers to present their player of the year awards. Great work to Leo Moore & Emily Bacon.

It was next time to present the Youth Girls & Colts ‘Team of the Year’. The league’s patron Luke Power was present to hand out the frames to each of the players. Head to our website to see the full list of both teams.

Lastly is was time to present the Best and Fairest awards. Once again our championship coaches did  a great job at reading the nominees and place getters.

Big Congratulations to all the awards winners.

The award winners photos will be available on the Photography Matters website:

bottom of page