A Night for the Yarra Umpires

16th September, 2021

Last night the YJFL held the annual Umpire Presentation Night online for the first time.

A night full of guests, interviews and awards, last night’s presentation event had it all. Hosted by Jon and Ben Thiele, two of the YJFL’s most experienced umpires, it was an occasion to recognise those who make our game possible.

We’d like to thank AFL Umpires Matt Stevic and Nick Brown for joining us and wish Matt all the best for the AFL Grand Final next week.

Also give thanks to Andrew Talbot from Umpire AFL, YJFL Vice President Ishbel Moodie and YJFL CEO Tim Murray for joining to give out a message and present awards.

Congratulations also go out to Surrey Park JFC for winning the AFL Umpire Engagement Award.

Thanks to all that joined and interacted during the event and we look forward to seeing you next year in season 2022.


Award Winners

Golden Whistle Award

Andrew Chau


Encouragement Awards

Bulleen Group – Luke Cariss-Brett

Lynden Park Group – Sarah Poustie


Junior Development Award-Best First Year Field Umpire

Will Edney


Most Improved Field Umpire

Joshua Stacey


Boundary Umpire of the Year – Robert Hill Award

Archie Bettiol


Most Improved Boundary Umpire

Harry Apostolopoulos


Best First Year Boundary Umpire

Finn Horan


Coaches Award Field Umpire

Bulleen Group – Thomas Masters

Lynden Park Group – Fergus Grave


Coaches Award Boundary Umpire

Lynden Park Group – Jennifer Moore

Bulleen Group – Hamish Stewart



View this post on Instagram


A post shared by Yarra Junior Football League (@yjfl_au)