About us

The Yarra Junior Football League was formed in 1997 through the amalgamation of the Doncaster & Districts Junior Football League and the Hawthorn Districts Junior Football League and is now one of the largest junior football leagues in Melbourne.

Participation in the YJFL is continually increasing. In 2016, the YJFL is comprised of 34 member clubs, which fielded a record 446 teams with in excess of 9300 registered players. The League runs competitions across all junior age groups, from  Under 9s up to Colts (Under 16s and 17s combined), including four divisions for girls – Under 10, Under 12, Under 15 and Youth Girls (Under 18).

The YJFL’s large number of teams allows for grading of teams within each age group so that each team, as far as is possible, plays in a grade that is commensurate with the team’s ability. Grading games are played in Rounds 1-4 to determine if the Grade (Section) for teams should be varied for the remainder of the season. 

If you would like to obtain more information about the Yarra Junior Football League, please contact the League’s Manager (P: 9850 6615 or E: admin@yarrajfl.org.au).